The State Museum of Pennsylvania Announces Finalists for 56th Annual “Art of the State” Exhibition

Harrisburg, PA – Finalists have been announced for Art of the State 2023.

Art of the State is an annual juried exhibition that has been showcasing the work of Pennsylvania’s artists at The State Museum of Pennsylvania since 1968. The body of art that has been exhibited reflects over a half-century of creative endeavor in the Keystone State. Through the years, artists have shared their ideas and engaged viewers in the categories of painting, photography/digital media, craft, sculpture, and work on paper.

Art of the State 2023 will open to the public at noon on Sunday, September 10 in conjunction with Harrisburg’s Gallery Walk. Admission to the museum will be free that day. The exhibit will close on Sunday, January 7, 2024.

Award winners will be posted on Facebook and Twitter. An exhibition catalogue pdf and programming announcements can be accessed on the Art of the State 2023 landing page.

The exhibit includes 86 works of art by 86 artists from 29 counties of Pennsylvania. Finalists were selected from 1,915 entries from 559 artists.

Selection jurors reviewed and scored all of the submitted works. Those with the highest ratings in each category are featured in the exhibition. The awards juror then determines the first prize, second prize, and third prize winners in each of the categories.

This year’s selection jurors are Deborah Pinter, Artist and Adjunct Professor, Cleveland Institute of Art, Kyle Hackett, Assistant Professor of Painting and Drawing, James Madison University School of Art, Design and Art History and Jennifer Zwilling, Curator and Director of Artists Programs, The Clay Studio

This year’s awards juror is Jeremiah William McCarthy, Chief Curator, Westmoreland Museum of American Art.

Cash awards of $5,550 will be distributed to artists. A first prize award of $500, second prize award of $300, and a third prize awards of $200 will be awarded in each of the five categories. The William D. Davis Memorial Award for Drawing in the amount of $250 and the Art Docents’ Choice Award of $300 will also be awarded.

Art of the State is presented by The State Museum of Pennsylvania in association with the Pennsylvania Heritage Foundation.

The Pennsylvania Heritage Foundation is the nonprofit partner of the Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission, the state agency charged with collecting, preserving, researching and interpreting the treasures of Pennsylvania. Through private contributions, PHF supports PHMC in protecting and providing access to 23 historic sites and museums, approximately 9 million objects, and more than 250 million archival items.

The State Museum of Pennsylvania, adjacent to the State Capitol in Harrisburg, is one of 23 historic sites and museums administered by Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission as part of the Pennsylvania Trails of History. The State Museum offers expansive collections interpreting Pennsylvania’s fascinating heritage. With exhibits examining the dawn of geologic time, the Native American experience, the Colonial and Revolutionary eras, a pivotal Civil War battleground, and the commonwealth’s vast industrial age, The State Museum demonstrates that Pennsylvania’s story is America’s story.

For more information about Art of the State 2023 and The State Museum, visit or follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

MEDIA CONTACT: Howard Pollman, 717-705-8639


Artists selected to exhibit at Art of the State 2023 are listed by county:


Liliana Arias   

Richard Barvainis

Joh Ricci


Robert Huckestein     

Dai Morgan

Marian Phillips

Paul Rosenblatt

Annie Weidman


George Radeschi


Sophie Glenn 

Vince Pellegrini

Steve Scheuring

Diane Turner


Chuck Fischer

Michael Frank

Kimberlee Nentwig

Jennifer Rubin Garey

Judith  Sutton


Brandon Hirt   


Yvonne Nowicka-Wright        


Anni Matsick  

Alex Ramos

Stephen Tuttle


Charles Emlen

Anne Mitchell Reid

Francine Renée Schneider


Nick Corchado

Richard Harrison

Michael Hower

Kris Lund

Kiki Mullen

Kirsten Olson

Steven Pearson         

Irene VanBuskirk

Harold Zabady


Alexander Bellotti

David Kasparek

Benjamin Ladieu

Doug Nicotera


Dean Pappas


Audrey Aronson


Andrea Finch


Chuck Olson


Collier Parker


Diana Laura

Jill Brinser

Jerome Hershey

Marita Hines

Becky McDonah

Joseph Roach

Jeff Sibbett


Lois Pluskey


Martie Geiger-Ho


Sarah R. Bloom

Kindred Art Collaborative

Steven Kulp

Maria Maneos

Joseph Opshinsky


Hale Allen

Oli Boyer

Peter Cunicelli

Tom Goodman

Jacob Hammes

Brynn Hurlstone

Ellen Hutchinson

Joe Klaus

Maree Lavo

Julia Marsh

Nicole Michaud

Nancy Middlebrook

Kathleen Studebaker

Robert Reinhardt


Alexandra Pacula


Amanda D’Agostino

Michael Pyrdsa


Ann Piper


Alyson J. Barton        


Eddy Lopez


Lauren Scavo-Fulk


Michelle Thomas


Donna Berk Barlup

Paul Chaplin

Richard Chandler Hoff

Thomas Notarangelo

Justin Ruby

Autumn Wright