« All News

2019 Summer Nature Lab

April 29, 2019

Filed under Nature Lab, Programs

This Summer, The State Museum of Pennsylvania will offer visitors the opportunity to engage with museum curators and representatives of various Pennsylvania state agencies through its Summer 2019 Nature Lab series. This program will be presented every Wednesday and Thursday at 11:30 AM, June 26 through August 21, and is included with general admission.

Wednesday, June 26 Leaf Identification of Common Trees of Pennsylvania with Ryan Reed, Natural Resource Specialist, DCNR Bureau of Forestry

Thursday, June 27 Dinosaurs in Pennsylvania with Dr. Steven Jasinski, The State Museum of Pennsylvania

Wednesday, July 3 Waterfowl: Ducks and Geese of Pennsylvania with The State Museum’s Education Department

Wednesday, July 10 Day/Night Predators: The Red-Tailed Hawk & Great Horned Owl with The State Museum’s Education Department

Thursday, July 11 Invasive Plants & Our Neighborhood Birds with Andrew Rohrbaug, Botanist, DCNR, Bureau of Forestry

Wednesday, July 17 Moon Madness: Rockets with The State Museum’s Education Department

Thursday, July 18 Moon Madness: Curiosity Kids Moon Making
with The State Museum’s Education Department

Wednesday, July 24 Geology with Simeon Suter, Geologist Supervisor, Groundwater & Environmental Geology Section, DCNR and Dr. Kyle Trostle

Thursday, July 25 Preserving our Past: Archaeology Lab with State Museum’s Section of Archaeology

Wednesday, July 31 Pennsylvania Wildlifewith Dr Walter Meshaka, Senior Curator Zoology & Botany, The State Museum

Thursday, August 1 Measuring and Mapping in Archaeology with State Museum’s Section of Archaeology

Wednesday, August 7 Pennsylvania Wildlife with Dr Walter Meshaka, Senior Curator Zoology & Botany, The State Museum

Thursday, August 8 Chipped Stone and the Prehistoric Tool Box with State Museum’s Section of Archaeology

Wednesday, August 14 Evolution of Pre-historic Life through Hands-On Objects with Museum educator Cherie Trimble, The State Museum of Pennsylvania

Thursday, August 15 Pots of Clay and What They Say with State Museum’s Section of Archaeology

Wednesday, August 21 Wild Cats of Pennsylvania: Cougar & Bobcat
with The State Museum’s Education Department