« All News

Press Release: Finalists for 50th “Art of the State”

May 8, 2017

Filed under Exhibit Opening, Exhibits, Press Releases

The 50th Annual Art of the State is recognized as the official, statewide juried competition for Pennsylvania artists.

The 50th Annual Art of the State is recognized as the official, statewide juried competition for Pennsylvania artists.

The State Museum of Pennsylvania Announces Finalists for 50th Annual “Art of the State” Exhibition, Awards Set for June 11

Finalists have been announced for Art of the State: Pennsylvania 2017.

Art of the State is an annual juried exhibition that has been showcasing the work of Pennsylvania’s artists at The State Museum of Pennsylvania since 1968. The body of art that has been exhibited reflects half a century of creative endeavor in the Keystone State. Through the years, exhibitors have shared their ideas and engaged viewers in the categories of painting, photography, craft, sculpture, and work on paper. This year marks the 50th anniversary of this prestigious exhibition.

The 50th annual exhibit opens to the public on Sunday, June 11 at The State Museum of Pennsylvania with an awards ceremony at 1:30 PM and an opening reception immediately following. Admission to The State Museum will be free that day.

The exhibit runs through September 10 and includes 130 works of art by 119 artists from 28 counties. This year’s exhibit attracted nearly 2,200 entries from 845 artists.

More than $7,000 in cash awards will be presented. In honor of the 50th anniversary, Jump Street, co-presenter of the exhibit, will bestow an award for the work that embodies the spirit of the arts. The Art Docents Corps of The State Museum will also present its inaugural Docents’ Choice Award in honor of the anniversary.

In addition, the William D. Davis Memorial Award for Drawing and The State Museum of Pennsylvania Purchase Award are presented. The work selected for the purchase prize is bought by The State Museum and becomes part of its permanent Fine Art collection.

Exhibit jurors include:

Painting and Work on Paper:
Carla Bengtson
Department Head of Art and Ann Swindells Chair
University of Oregon

Ian Cofre
Independent curator/writer
New York City

Three-dimensional Craft and Sculpture:
Jeffrey Mongrain
Professor of Art / Clay and Casting
Hunter College

Art of the State: Pennsylvania 2017 Awards Juror:
Richard Torchia
Arcadia University Art Gallery, Director

Art of the State is co-presented by The State Museum and Jump Street. WITF Public Media and Higher Information Group are exhibit sponsors.

Jump Street, a non-profit arts organization, has been serving the Capital Region for over 38 years, providing arts programs for students and adults; arts grants to artists and organizations throughout the state of Pennsylvania; arts-based community service programs; and technical assistance to artists and organizations.

The State Museum of Pennsylvania, adjacent to the State Capitol in Harrisburg, is one of 24 historic sites and museums administered by Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission as part of the Pennsylvania Trails of History. The State Museum offers expansive collections interpreting Pennsylvania’s fascinating heritage. With exhibits examining the dawn of geologic time, the Native American experience, the Colonial and Revolutionary eras, a pivotal Civil War battleground, and the commonwealth’s vast industrial age, The State Museum demonstrates that Pennsylvania’s story is America’s story.

Media Contact: Howard Pollman, 717-705-8639


Editor’s Note: A online gallery of the artwork is available here: https://phmc.info/AOS50.
Artists selected to exhibit at the 2017 “Art of the State” competition are listed by county:

Adams County
Sarah Becker
Joh Ricci

Allegheny County
Scott Hunter
Sandy Kessler Kaminski
Ron Korczynski
Mike Korsak
Karen Larson
Sandra Moore
Wesley Smith
Margaret Spacapan
Nick Vukmanovich
Mark Weleski

Armstrong County
Shawn Farester

Berks County
Brian Glaze
Don Weaver

Bucks County
Dorine Lerner
Sharon Maloney
Julie Shea
John Slavin

Butler County
Megan Kunst

Cambria County
Thomas Bichko
Norman Ed

Centre County
Susan Marie Brundage
Elody Gyekis
Mary Lee Kerr
Cynthia Nixon
Philip Sollman

Chester County
Heather Davis
Lauren A. Litwa
Jennifer Nilsen
Liz Hamilton Quay

Cumberland County
Dennis Akin
Linda Benzon
Nicole Dube
Sarah Frotscher
John Hassler
Tim Hoover
Clare Klaum
Brittany Kurtinecz
Susan Landis
James McNally
Paul Nagle
Carol Reed
Aron Rook
David Stauffer
Toni Semanko
Don Uvick
Rosanne Wolfe
John Wright

Dauphin County
Ashley Arbaiza
Karen Commings
Jewel Jones-Fulp
Andrew Guth
David Kasparek
Jeff Wiles

Delaware County
Thomas Ferrie
Lisa Learner
Laura Ducceschi
Jim Conner

Erie County
Geoffrey Beadle
Denise Keim
Fred Scruton

Franklin County
Philip Lindsey

Lackawanna County
Samuel Barrese
Brooke Jana
Joseph Opshinsky

Lancaster County
Emily Bayless
Denny Bond
Line Bruntse
Amy Edwards
Richard Kent
Becky McDonah
Abby Rudisill
Gene Shaw
Jason Thompson

Lawrence County
Rabecca Signoriello

Lebanon County
Robert Ros

Lehigh County
Kathleen Barrett
Rosemarie Domitrovitz
Lauren Kuhn

Luzerne County
Nikki Moser

Lycoming County
Donna Britton
Jeremiah Johnson
Edward Jonasen
John McKaig
David Moyer

Montgomery County
Elyce Abrams
Robert Arnosky
Terri Fridkin
Lorraine Glessner
Betz Green
Linnie Kerrigan-Greenberg
Gary Philips
Cathy Rappeport
Deborah Riccardi
Lisa Rose
Michael Rosiak
James Samanen
Ron Tarver

Northampton County
Michael Brolly
Bruce Ward

Andrea Beizer
Jill Bonovitz
Holly Brigham
Jimmy Clark
Brian Dennis
Marie Gantz
Bonnie MacAllister
Marie Manski
James Mundie
Don Nakamura
Zach Zecha

Robert Stickloon

Wayne County
Paul Plumadore

Westmoreland County
Brandon Fiume
Kevin O’Toole
Patricia Kennedy-Zafred

York County
Charles Hubbard
R. Andrew Hoff