« All News

2018 Summer Nature Lab

May 24, 2018

Filed under Events, Nature Lab, Programs

Dr. Walter Meshaka in Nature Lab

This summer the State Museum of Pennsylvania will offer visitors the opportunity to engage with museum curators, educators and representatives of various Pennsylvania state agencies through its Summer 2018 Nature Lab series. This program will be presented every Wednesday and Thursday at 11:30 AM, June 27 through August 16, and is included with general admission.

Wednesday, June 27 Pennsylvania Wildlife
with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany

Thursday, June 28 Flint Knapping
with Dr. Kurt Carr, Sr. Curator of Archaeology and Janet Johnson, Curator of Archaeology

Thursday, July 5 Magnets
with The State Museum’s Education Department

Wednesday, July 11 Pennsylvania Wildlife
with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany

Thursday, July 12 Native American Bone Tools 
with Janet Johnson, Curator and Callista Holmes, Archaeology Lab Manager

Wednesday, July 18 Maps
with The State Museum’s Education Department

Thursday, July 19 Who’s Digging PA?
with David Burke and Elizabeth Wagner, Curators of Archaeology

Wednesday, July 25 Pennsylvania Wildlife
with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany

Thursday, July 26 Archaeology and Toys Through Time
with Elizabeth Wagner and Kim Sebestyen, Curators of Archaeology

Wednesday, August 1 Pennsylvania Wildlife
with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany

Thursday, August 2 Librarians and the Lovely Lava
with STEM Librarians from the State Library

Wednesday, August 8 Pennsylvania Wildlife
with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany

Thursday, August 9 Preserving our Past:Archaeology Lab
with Andrea Carr and Callista Holmes, Archaeology Lab Managers

Wednesday, August 15 Simple Machines
with The State Museum’s Education Department

Thursday, August 16 History of Digging at Fort Hunter
with Jim Herbstritt and Kim Sebestyen, Curators of Archaeology