« All News

2017 Summer Nature Lab Programs

June 7, 2017

Filed under Events, Nature Lab, Programs

This summer, take a staycation to The State Museum of Pennsylvania where you’ll discover interactive, hands-on learning experiences guided by specialists in fields ranging from archaeology to environmental protection. Museum curators and representatives of various Pennsylvania State agencies will engage in live educational presentations as they lead visitors of all ages through the rich natural world of Pennsylvania. This program runs on Wednesday and Thursdays, June 21 through August 24. These presentations start at 11:30 AM are included with general admission to The Museum.

Wednesday, June 21 Pennsylvania Wildlife with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany The State Museum

Thursday, June 22 Flintknapping with Dr. Kurt Carr, Sr. Curator The State Museum’s Archaeology Section

Wednesday, June 28 Pennsylvania Wildlife with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany The State Museum

Thursday, June 29 Pots of Clay and What They Say with The State Museum’s Archaeology Section

Wednesday, July 5 The Wild Turkey with The State Museum’s Education Department

Thursday, July 6 Who’s Digging PA? with The State Museum’s Archaeology Section

Wednesday, July 12 Paleontology: Evolution of Snakes with Steven Jasinski, Curator of Paleontology and Geology at The State Museum

Thursday, July 13 Prehistory through Artifacts with Janet Johnson with The State Museum’s Archaeology Section

Wednesday, July 19 Pennsylvania Wildlife with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany The State Museum

Thursday, July 20 Forget Me Not: Labeling Artifacts for the Future with The State Museum’s Archaeology Section

Wednesday, July 26 Bats Incredible! with Carissa Longo educator from DCNR-State Parks

Thursday, July 27 Flintknapping with Dr. Kurt Carr, Sr. Curator The State Museum’s Archaeology Section

Wednesday, August 2 Pennsylvania Wildlife with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany The State Museum

Thursday, August 3 Paleontology with Steven Jasinski, Curator of Paleontology and Geology at The State Museum

Wednesday, August 9 Paleontology with The State Museum Staff

Thursday, August 10 Discovering Petroglyphs in Pennsylvania with The State Museum’s Archaeology Section

Wednesday, August 16 Pennsylvania Wildlife with Dr. Walter Meshaka, Sr. Curator Zoology and Botany The State Museum

Thursday, August 17 Prehistory through Artifacts with Janet Johnson with The State Museum’s Archaeology Section

Wednesday, August 23 Magnetism with The State Museum’s Education Department

Thursday, August 24 Exploring Slime with The State Museum’s Education Department